And so it all began…

I know what you are thinking: “Seriously, is there really need for a new chemistry blog?”. Actually, I don’t know if you are thinking that but at least I was just a few hours ago. I’ve been an avid reader of chemistry blogs for months and now I just felt that I want to have my own. So what will this blog be about? To tell you the truth, I don’t know exactly. Generally spoken, it will be about synthetic organic chemistry. But what specifically? That I don’t know.

And what’s with the name? I’m a big fan of total synthesis and if there wasn’t the great site called TotallySynthetic, I would probably write a lot about total synthesis. So I’m a big fan of that site, as you probably could have guessed from the name of this blog :D That’s where the Totally part comes from.

I’m also really interested in reaction mechanisms. I like knowing how things happen, not just what happens. So I was thinking that I want to write about reaction mechanisms. And that’s how I came up with the name TotallyMechanistic (actually I think someone was suggesting that or something similar some time ago in TotallySynthetic). Had I more imagination, I might have come up with something more original but this will have to do, at least for now.

I don’t know exactly how often I will be posting but once a day is what I’m aiming at.

See, I don’t know much yet. But thank you for stopping by and welcome back. I hope I’ll have my first real post up by then.

Explore posts in the same categories: News

9 Comments on “And so it all began…”

  1. Milo Says:

    Hey! Welcome to the world of blogging! I am glad there is another one out there that will try to talk about mechanisms. I always have these gand plans of doing that, but rarely have the time to sit down with chemdraw (hence the simple ones on my blog).

  2. Mitch Says:

    Always good to see a new chemistry blog, even if their anonymous. ;)

    You know, being anonymous makes it more difficult for me to get in contact with you about link exchanges and adding some of your mechanisms, with referring links back to your blog, in our mechanisms page.

    Mitch

  3. Beaker Says:

    Dearest Blogger,

    After reading your mission statement, I feel that we two are alike. Indeed, I also wish to understand the mechanisms and thermodynamic influences behind my reactions. Sadly, this is not a common position at my University. Plenty of the graduate students think it’s totally alright to just use general procedures to end up with their synthetic intermediates – without knowing the mechnism! These are mostly organic people – of which the people doing methodology and mechanistic studies I respect the most.

    Anyway, given that natural product synthesis does not give scope for molecule design, which is half the fun and two-thirds the skill of chemistry. Perhaps this is why I chose inorganic chemistry. In any event, I hope your blog goes well! I have, of course, linked you =) Oh yeah and I want to see some cool mechanisms in the future, particularly involving metal ions =)

    l8r,

    -Bkr

  4. Bill Says:

    You have some good stuf on this page, you shouldn’t stay so anonymous

  5. ebiarbashu Says:

    udRKQX Menia viebali kak shmelia na goufake YYou!!!!


  6. Welcome to the world of blogging. I will come back for more reading. Good luck!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

